Songs I missed the first time round No.1: I Melt With You

May 13, 2009

It’s a complete mystery to me how this passed me by in 1982 as I spent most of my angst filled evenings with my ear to the radio. I wasn’t the only one though – it didn’t appear in John Peel’s Festive 50 either. 1982 was a vintage year mind you – just look at the top 10 (ignoring Tears For Fears)

  1. New Order – Temptation
  2. Robert Wyatt – Shipbuilding
  3. Grandmaster Flash and the Furious 5 – The Message
  4. Echo and the Bunnymen – The Back of Love
  5. Tears for Fears – Mad World
  6. The Clash – Straight to Hell
  7. Wah! – The Story of the Blues
  8. Theatre of Hate – Do You Believe in the West World
  9. Artery – Into the Garden
  10. Wild Swans – Revolutionary Spirit

In Shreds by the Chameleons – a classic if ever there was one – only managed to scrape in at number 42.

I’d heard of Modern English but never heard anything by them – maybe it’s because they came from Colchester and not Manchester. It was only last year (to my shame) that I heard the Nouvelle Vague bossa- nova-ish version of I Melt With You. Intrigued I tracked down the original and it’s hardly been off my i-pod since. The 17 year old me would have loved this song.

Leave a Reply

