Songs I missed the first time round Number 3: Turn the Heater On

May 13, 2009

I have a good excuse for missing this one. I was 11 in 1975 when Torch of Freedom by Keith Hudson came out. Jamaican Dub wasn’t really on my pre-teen radar. 

New Order brought the song into my world when they covered it for their first Peel session (Barney typically getting the words wrong). I managed to get a boot-leg version of that and played the grooves off it. It took me years to track down the original version (it still doesn’t seem to be available on any CDs or downloads). It was worth the wait. It really is awesome. Just listen

Keith%20Hudson%20-%2008%20-%20Turn%20The%20Heater%20On.mp3

Leave a Reply

